Secretary   Secretary

Press / Media   Press / Media

Webmaster   Webmaster


The Euler Comic

In November 2006, Birkhäuser Basel published the comics volume "Ein Mann, mit dem man rechnen kann", an amusing portrayal of Leonhard Euler's life in Basel, St. Petersburg, and Berlin. The team of authors - they already produced, in 2001, a comic book on Basel's accession to Switzerland - consists of Elena Pini (drawings), Alice Heyne (research) and Andreas K. Heyne (text).

Since January 2007 also an English edition ("A man to be reckoned with") is available.

Birkhäuser publishing house donated the cost of production and sales support for this comic as a generous sponsorship contribution to Euler-2007; thus the entire revenue from the book goes to the projects of the Tercentenary and to the further activities of the Euler Edition.

About this book

His ideas turned the mathematical world on its head. He calculated the currents of liquids, the moment of inertia, developed the calculus of variations and the modern number theory. As scientist he should be placed on the same level as Newton and Einstein.

Engineers all over the world use his formulas every day - whether it be for constructing the hull of the "Alinghi" or for calculating the vibrations of the "Viaduc de Millau", the world's highest motorway bridge.

He was, however, a man who loved the peace and quiet of his home life - not easy at the time of the foundation of St. Petersburg, when murdering czars was daily business; or in Berlin at the time of the Silesian wars; and particularly not in the midst of a crowd of children.

The comic by Elena Pini (illustrations) and Alice and Andreas K. Heyne (text) follows the life of the genius from Basel, who, born 300 years ago, would set out to change the scientific world.

Direkte Anwahl:

  1. Calendar
  2. Contact
  3. Links


NEW The 6th newsletter is out now! Read ...

Congress SCNAT

Paper of Prof. Jürgen Mittelstrass and communique on "Excellence - what does promote it and what does prevent it?". Download ...


Euler Comic in English. More ...


E.A.Fellmann's Euler biography available in English. More ...


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!

Sekretariat   Sekretariat

Presse / Medien   Presse / Medien

Webmaster   Webmaster

 

Der Euler-Comic

Im November 2006 erschien im Birkhäuser Verlag Basel der Comic-Band "Ein Mann, mit dem man rechnen kann", eine amüsante Darstellung von Leonhard Eulers Leben zwischen Basel, St. Petersburg und Berlin. Das Autorenteam, das 2001 bereits mit einem Comic zum Beitritt Basels zur Schweiz hervorgetreten ist, besteht aus Elena Pini (Zeichnungen), Alice Heyne (Recherchen) und Andreas K. Heyne (Text).

Seit Januar 2007 ist auch eine englischsprachige Ausgabe des Comics erhältlich.

Herstellung und Vertrieb des Comic sind ein Geschenk des Birkhäuser Verlags an die Euler-Kommission als Sponsoring-Beitrag an das Euler-Jahr 2007; der Ertrag steht also vollumfänglich für Projekte des Jubiläumsjahres und für die weitere Arbeit der Euler-Edition zur Verfügung.

Am 30. Juni 2007 war Einsendeschluss des Anachronismen-Wettbewerbs zum Euler-Comic. Hier finden Sie die

 

Über dieses Buch

In seinem Kopf stellte er die mathematische Welt auf den Kopf. Er berechnete Flüssigkeitsströmungen, das Trägheitsmoment, entwickelte die Variationsrechnung und die moderne Zahlentheorie. Als Wissenschaftler steht er auf einer Stufe mit Newton und Einstein.

Konstrukteure in aller Welt arbeiten tagtäglich mit seinen Formeln - egal ob es um den Schiffsrumpf der "Alinghi" geht oder um die Schwingungen des "Viaduc de Millau", der Welt höchster Autobahnbrücke.

Dabei war er ein Mensch, der bürgerliche Behaglichkeit und Ruhe liebte. Nicht ganz einfach zur Gründungszeit von St. Petersburg inmitten russischer Kaisermorde oder im Berlin zur Zeit der schlesischen Kriege. Und erst recht nicht inmitten einer grossen Kinderschar.

Direkte Anwahl:

  1. Agenda
  2. Newsletter
  3. Kontakt
  4. Links

Newsletter

AKTUELL Der 6. Newsletter ist am 16. Juni 2008 erschienen. Lesen ...

Schlussbericht

Im April 2008 ist der Schlussbericht über die Basler Aktivitäten zum 300. Geburtstag von Leonhard Euler erschienen. Zum Bericht ...

Fasnacht 2008

Leonhard Euler ist es gegen Ende seines 301. Lebensjahres gelungen, den ultimativen Gipfel des Basler Ruhmes zu erklimmen. Mehr ...

Jahreskongress SCNAT

Zum Abschluss des SCNAT-Kongresses: das Impulsreferat von Prof. Jürgen Mittelstrass und die Pressemitteilung zum Symposium "Exzellenz was fördert und was hindert sie?". Zum Download ...

 

 
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!
v1.2.07/de